EJ Brady Short story competition


The Mallacoota Arts Council is pleased to announce the winners of the 2016-2017 EJ Brady short story competition.

The winner of the $2000 Mallacoota Prize for best short story of less than 2500 words is Clare Aman from NSW for her story Japanese. Click on story titles to read or download in PDF.

The runner-up in the Mallacoota Prize receiving $300 is Julie Chevalier from NSW for her story Rent-a-Child.

The winner of the $500 Gabo Prize for a short story of less than 700 words is Robyn Butler from Victoria for her story The Dam.

The winner of the $500 Betka Prize for a humorous story of less than 1000 words is Duncan McGlynn from the ACT for his story The Black Widow.

A $100 encouragement award for a previously unpublished author is awarded to Laura Kenny from NSW for her Gabo Prize entry Milk and Bubbles and Innocence.

Special thanks to our volunteer judges Lyn Harwood, Mick Bartholomew, Natalie Handsjuk, Sue Hines, Rosy Morton, Calista Cooper, Jim Sakkas and Ketzia Wood without whom this competition would not be possible.

To celebrate the prize winners an afternoon of readings, from selected stories, will take place at the Croajingolong Centre 66 Maurice Ave Mallacoota on Sunday May 28th at 3:00pm. Afternoon tea will be provided and wine and beer will be available for purchase. Tickets for this event are $8 each at Pickets or phone Mallacoota Arts Council on 0422988890.

See the competition results from previous years


The 2016-2017 judges include Bruce Pascoe, author of many published works of fiction such as Bloke and non-fiction such as Black Emu and Convincing Ground. He published and edited Australian Short Stories quarterly magazine for 16 years, was winner of the Radio National short story competition (1998) and the Australian Literature Award (1999).

Also judging this year are Lyn Harwood, editor of the Babe is Wise, short story publisher, and co-author of Cape Otway: coast of secrets; Sue Hines, author of short stories for younger readers, Spider Mania, and Fright Night, and young adult fiction, Out of the Shadows, The Plunketts and The Water Boys; and Ketzia Wood.

Winner of the Vogel Literary Award, Jim Sakkas continues to offer his assistance to the judging panel.


The EJ Brady Short story competition is named in honour of local poet Edwin James Brady (1869-1952). The competition recognises Mallacoota’s long-standing literary and artistic traditions. Mr Brady’s accomplishments were rather varied. The Australian Dictionary of Biography lists his occupations as agricultural writer, auto biographer/memoirist, biographer, journalist, newspaper editor, poet, short story writer and socialist!

See who won in previous years and read their stories.