EJ Brady Short story competition 2018-2019

The Mallacoota Arts Council recently launched the 2018-2019 EJ Brady Short Story Competition.

The categories for 2018–2019 are unchanged from 2017-18.

Gabo Prize for very short stories of less than 700 words.
Betka Prize for humorous short stories of less than 1000 words.
Mallacoota Prize for short stories of less than 2500 words.

Entry fees

Entry fees remain the same as 2017-2018. Payment can be made by a bank transfer or via PayPal or, if you are submitting the entry form by post, payment can be made by cheque.

  • $8 to enter the Gabo Prize
  • $10 to enter the Betka Prize
  • $12 to enter the Mallacoota Prize

Prize money

Prize money is the same as 2017-2018

  • Gabo Prize – $500 to the author of the winning story
  • Betka Prize – $1000 to the author of the winning story
  • Mallacoota Prize – $2000 to the author of the winning story and $300 to the author of the runner-up

How to enter

Entries must be received by midnight on Thursday 28th February 2019. Multiple stories can be submitted.

Enter online
You can submit your story online by visiting this page and completing the EJ Brady Short story competition entry form.

Enter by post
You can download an entry form here [PDF 148KB]. Right-click on the download link and choose ‘save link as’ or ‘save target as’ (control+click on Macs). If you click the link and the form opens in a window in your browser go to ‘file’ > ‘save page as’ to download it. Print out the form, complete all the fields and post it to:

  • EJ Brady Competition
  • Mallacoota Arts Council
  • PO Box 201
  • Mallacoota 3892

Best of luck in EJ Brady 2018-2019!

Humour category – The Betka Prize

A couple of years ago, the new category of Humour was included in the E.J Comp. Why? Because we are all in need of a laugh in these god-forsaken times. That’s why!

And the beauty of humour is that it comes in many guises. It can be slapstick or serious, self-effacing or full of piss and wind, light-hearted or black, gentle or excoriating, prudish or ribald- anything, really, provided it makes us laugh.

And since brevity is the soul of wit, we request that your stories be less than 1000 words. (Save the long-winded ones for the pub).

Come on then, send us your stories. Make us laugh.


The EJ Brady Short story competition is named in honour of local poet Edwin James Brady (1869-1952). The competition recognises Mallacoota’s long-standing literary and artistic traditions. Mr Brady’s accomplishments were rather varied. The Australian Dictionary of Biography lists his occupations as agricultural writer, auto biographer/memoirist, biographer, journalist, newspaper editor, poet, short story writer and socialist!

See who won in previous years and read their stories.