EJ Brady Short story competition results 2017-2018


2017-2018 Competition results

Judging has been completed for the E J Brady Short Story Competition 2017-18. Click the winning story titles below to download or read the stories in PDF.

Gabo Prize: $500 for a very short story up to 700 words

Winner: Ragtime in Eden by Roger Vickery and Ian Hood N.S.W.

Shortlisted stories:

  • On a Melbourne Tram by Vincenzo Berlingieri, South Australia
  • Grief Unspoken by Margot Ogilvie, South Australia
  • Losing Harold by Gina Dawson, South Australia
  • The Devil you Know by Maggie Veness, New South Wales
  • Dresses of Light by Jacqueline Trott, New South Wales
  • If Only by Colleen Russell, New South Wales
  • Hair-ribbon, Blue Sky by Freya Cox, Tasmania
  • Fallen Peachers by Maggie Jankuloska, Victoria
  • Our Old Dog by Astrid Judge, Victoria
  • Blur Circle by Meghalee Bose, Victoria
  • Skeleton Dance by Jacqueline Trott, New South Wales

Betka Prize $1000 for a humorous short story up to 1000 words

Winner: The Dog Show by Katherine Kovacic, Victoria

Shortlisted stories

  • Pop-Up by Eliza Janssen, Victoria
  • The Dating Game by Heather McKenzie, Queensland
  • The Dinner Party by Ruth Wyer, New South Wales
  • Plenty of Fish by Fin J Ross, Victoria
  • Visitors and Fish by Elise McKenzie, N.S.W.
  • Cafe de Tofs by Rodney McLure, Victoria
  • The Saddest Day for a Chump by Jack Stanton N.S.W.

Mallacoota Prize $2000 for the winner and $300 for the runner-up, for a short story of up to 2500 words

Winner: Dunedin 911 by Susan Bennett, Victoria

Runner-up: Just Roosters by David Watson, New South Wales

Shortlisted stories

  • Clay by Julie Woodland, Western Australia
  • River Skin by Zoe McDonald, Queensland
  • Luke’s Bone’s by Cassie Hamer New South Wales
  • Simon & Sam & the Wolves by Ellen Vickerman, Queensland

Our thanks goes to, all those writers who entered the competition and our wonderful judging panel of Ketzia Wood, Angus Buchanan, Jim Sakkas, Sue Hines, Peter Gibson, Jenny Lloyd, Lyn Harwood, Rosy Morton and Callista Cooper.


The EJ Brady Short story competition is named in honour of local poet Edwin James Brady (1869-1952). The competition recognises Mallacoota’s long-standing literary and artistic traditions. Mr Brady’s accomplishments were rather varied. The Australian Dictionary of Biography lists his occupations as agricultural writer, auto biographer/memoirist, biographer, journalist, newspaper editor, poet, short story writer and socialist!

See who won in previous years and read their stories.